Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney held his weekly Zoom conference call with the media on Sunday afternoon, following the Tigers’ 20-19 win at No. 20 Louisville on Friday night.
Swinney commented on a controversial call in the game, which came in the second quarter and ultimately resulted in a touchdown for the Cardinals.
Around the 10-minute mark of the second quarter, Louisville quarterback Miller Moss hit wide receiver Chris Bell for a 37-yard gain, but it looked as if Bell fumbled the ball as he was trying to reach for the pylon, and the ball went out of bounds.
Replay buzzed down to review the play, wanting to see if the ball touched the pylon after he fumbled it, which would have resulted in a touchback and Clemson’s ball.
The official ruling on the field was that Bell’s knee was out of bounds at the 1-yard line, and after official review, the play on the field stood as called. Two plays later, Moss punched it in for a 1-yard touchdown run that gave Louisville a 9-3 lead with 8:47 before halftime.
Swinney requested more clarification from the ACC regarding the play.
“I know [the officials] reviewed it. We turned it in to get more clarification on it,” Swinney said. “But they reviewed it, and I don’t know if they just didn’t have enough to overturn it, because they called him down in the game. Maybe they didn’t have enough, with their angles, to truly overturn it. To me, it was either his knee was down, like they called it, and he was on the 1 there. Or, it was a touchback. But what they ruled on the field, I just don’t know that they had enough to overturn it.”
During ESPN’s broadcast, rules analyst Matt Austin said he thought it should have been ruled a touchback and Clemson’s ball, as Bell lost possession of the ball and it appeared the ball touched the pylon before any body part was down.
“We’ll probably get more clarification,” Swinney added. “But I think that’s honestly what it came down to. That’s what we thought, but again, they’ve got more to go on, and the ruling on the field matters as well.”